Last Friday (3 Feb) saw the mixed doubles discipline of the Handicap tournament take place at Rudheath Leisure Centre. 14 pairs entered the event, these were split into 2 groups of 7 as below (handicaps in brackets) 

Tony Dutton & Symone Dale (-6)
Grant Major & Charlotte Sherlock (+5)
Colin Turnock & Sue Mills (+6)
Warren Simpson & Zoe Raiswell (-8)
Mark McGlinchy & Ann Lewis (-5)
Paul Wilson & Hannah Marks (scr)
Josh Millington & Lucy Rosa (+1)

James Burnham & Liz Clarke (-6)
Ian Brookhouse & Karen Brookhouse (-2)
Jez Touch & Ali Bowker (-7)
Mike Challinor & Glynis Maclachlan (+3)
Dave Lee & Rachel Wellings (+1)
Mark Brumby & Jane Brumby (+8)
James Shatwell & Helen Shatwell (+5)

Group A was won by Paul & Hannah (won 5, lost 1), whilst Group B was won by James and Liz by the same margin.

The final was a close affair with the victory finally going to James and Liz 15-12.

Congratulations to James Burnham and Liz Clarke, Mixed Handicap Winners 2016-17.

A big thank you to all the competitors who made it a fantastic night of badminton, all pairs won at least one game and also lost at least one game, which shows that the handicaps can't have been too far off!  Also, 39.5% of the games that took place ended 15-13 or closer, which shows just how competitive the night was for everyone.

Thanks also to those who helped formulate the handicaps – these events would not take place without their assistance.